Time Is Precious

clock

I remember when I was a child how much it annoyed me when grownups would say that time passes quickly. Boy, did time drag back then. When I was ten, my girlfriend and I used to play teenager. We could not wait to get into our teens. Now that I am fifty, I can relate to those grownups and see how precious time really is.

Time is a gift from God. Once time is gone, it is gone. In the spirit world there is no such thing as time. But we live on the Earth plane trapped in space and time. It should not be wasted in boredom, laziness, or overworking. Time needs to be balanced and it is up to each individual to learn how.

This is a lesson that I have learned and continue to learn. My time is precious and needs to be respected. I do think it is important to cater to my clients. But I used to do it at my expense, by being constantly interrupted by clients who wanted immediate readings. These constant interruptions kept all the things that were really important to me from getting accomplished. My writing, bookkeeping, Me Time, and other things were getting interrupted and pushed to the background. This was my own fault and I needed to change it. A friend pointed out that they are coming to me for my expertise and should cater to my schedule.

One of the things that helped is when I started dating my boyfriend. Most of my clients are in the evening and on Saturdays. But he works Monday thru Friday. I still work evenings but I spend my Saturdays with him. My time and relationship with him is important and precious. The other thing I learned is that I do not have to pick up the phone when I am in the middle of doing important work. That is why there is voicemail! Next I made boundaries with some clients. The best thing was when I put a calendar on my website for clients to set up their own appointments. But I also work for lines that have immediate readings when I am available. It is amazing how much I get accomplished and still help my clients.

Here are some tips to help you with your gift of time:

  • Learn to say no to things you do not want to do.
  • Do not allow phone calls and texts to interrupt something important, unless it is a valid emergency. What dress should I wear, do you think he will call, and what’s for dinner is not an emergency. Call back when you are done with the project.
  • Write down what is important for you to accomplish and schedule it on the calendar.
  • Be there for people but not at the expense of your dreams and things that need to get done.
  • Have balance with your day – enough sleep, exercise, work, and play.
  • Allow yourself a slug day every now and then. Stay in your PJs and watch movies, read, or sleep the day away.
  • Live your life the way you want to! So this way when it is time to cross over to the other side, there are no regrets.

I hope that this blog has inspired you to spend your time wisely! A toast to precious time! To schedule a reading with me please use this online calendar on this page.

2 comments on “Time Is Precious

Leave a Reply

