Self-Employment Lessons

SE Lessons
I have been self-employed since 1993 as a healer, coach, teacher, author, and psychic. It has been an incredible journey that has taught me a ton of lessons. If you are thinking about becoming self-employed it is important for you to know that becoming rich overnight is very rare. My advice to you is pick a profession that makes your heart sing and get ready for a ride of a lifetime. The following are three important lessons I learned.

My Service is Valuable

It is amazing the amount of people who want my work for free. People have called and sent emails to my business, Facebook, and Twitter accounts asking me to give them a psychic answer to a question or questions. It got so bad on Facebook that I turned off my Instant Chat and made several posts not to ask me for free readings.
Here are my solutions:
  • Once a week I take one question from each caller on The Love Channel Show that is broadcasted on True Psychic Network.
  • I answer questions in The Love Channel and In the Dreamtime, my two monthly columns in Bellesprit Magazine. I also respond to the majority of questions sent to Bellesprit Diamonds. 
  • When people give me the line that it is a gift from God and should be freely given, I respond with humor, “When the grocery stores, gas stations, and utility companies say it’s free, it will be free for you.”

Be Kind in Social Media

Social Media is a must for any business. The majority of the times I love it and have met wonderful people from all over the world on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest. There was a time in Facebook when people could post right on your timeline business page; thankfully that has changed. One woman liked my page and posted her business on my timeline. I took her post off and privately messaged her to please ask for permission to post her business ads to my page. She was furious and messaged me a couple of nasty messages! I liked her page by accident when I viewed it (God at work) and all was forgiven.
Here are my solutions:
  • When someone responds in a negative way to my post I do not immediately respond to it and take a time out. If I choose to respond, it will only be done in a kind and loving manner.
  • I have learned to ignore all negative tweets in Twitter.
  • I can block or de-friend people, delete rude and/or negative comments, and choose who I want to associate with.

Collaborating

I may be self-employed but that doesn’t mean I just work with my clients. My blog, Minimum Wage for Psychics,  describes some of my experiences subcontracting. I have also collaborated with others for radio shows, magazines, book launches, fairs, projects, and events. The majority of these have been positive experiences.
There are times when working with others are necessary lessons. One company that I subcontracted for wanted me to figure out the amount they paid me for the year so they could send it to their accountant. Here was my response, “I am backed up with my own bookkeeping and work to do take the time to do your bookkeeping. Everyone else I subcontracted for last year did their own 1099 calculations.” They let me go because of my bad attitude!
Here is the good part. Yes, out of horror can come beauty. I made boundaries on what was not only ethical to me but legally right. My human side was feeling stunned, angry, and hurt. But at the same time I also felt grateful and relieved that this blessing had occurred. Obviously, God had something better in store for me.
Here are my solutions:
  • I strive to be diplomatic, compassionate, and have good communication when working with others.
  • It is important for me to be appropriate, have social graces, and not badmouth others. I go to my support system to vent.
  • I do my best not to burn any bridges with people I work with and maintain good relationships afterwards. But there are times when those bridges need to be exploded and not repaired because some people are toxic for my health! Bless their hearts.
I hope these three lesson help you in your own business or life. The above is not to scare you, in fact there are many benefits to being self-employed. Hey, now that would make a good blog!
Leave a Reply

