Open Blog Weekend: Five Reasons to Not KDP Select

Open-Blog-Weekend-788x365

There is so much controversy over the Kindle Direct Publishing Select program; some authors think that it’s that best thing to happen since the internet, and other authors say not to put all your eggs in one basket. In case you do not know what KDP Select is, it is when an author enrolls their eBook and they can only sell it on Amazon, therefore they have to take off their eBook everywhere else. The readers can get your book free for a limited time and/or there is a limited time promotional discounting for the book. The author’s book is enrolled in the Kindle Unlimited subscription program (like Netflix but for books) and the author gets a 70% royalty for sales in other countries when normally the percentages are much lower.

I can understand why full-time writers and fiction authors may want to enroll when Amazon controls a large percentage of the eBook market. They are going where the majority of book sales are and could get higher earnings. I might do the same if I was in their shoes, but I am an Indie nonfiction author. My eBooks are to educate the public, they are my “Digital Business Cards,” and help get interest in the services that are my money maker. Here are my five reasons that I choose not to go into the KDP Select program:

Read the rest at Self Publisher Showcase

2 comments on “Open Blog Weekend: Five Reasons to Not KDP Select

  1. Nice article. Ebook is the route I’ll go next I think.

    Be Well, Wendy http://www.wendyjoy.net for sessions and info on Clear Channel: A Guide for the Newly Awakening http://www.bringingthelight.podomatic.com for Bringing the Light Radio Show podcasts http://www.facebook.com/wendyjoyauthor for FREE Distant Energy Work on the 9th of the month and a message from Spirit on the 10th.

    http://www.twitter.com/wendyjoy111 for twitter updates. http://www.bellesprit.com for FREE monthly spiritual magazine containing my column, Ascension Tips

    Date: Tue, 21 Jul 2015 18:12:13 +0000 To: wendy.joy@live.com

    • Thank you, Wendy. An eBook is a great route to go, in fact, I rarely read paperbacks anymore. I do like Amazon’s sister company, Createspace, for print on demand. People still like paperbacks or what I call – Grandpa books 🙂

Leave a Reply

