An Attitude of Gratitude

Thanksgiving

The month of November always makes me think of gratitude because of the US Thanksgiving holiday. Many, many moons ago, I was estranged from my family on Thanksgiving. I was invited to share a meal at a women’s halfway house where I had volunteered at. I had a lovely time with these warm ladies and the food was wonderful. What has always stood out for me about that Thanksgiving is the end of the meal. You see, we went around the table, and each of us had to say what we were grateful for. I can’t remember what anyone or myself was grateful for, what I do remember is the magical feeling that occurred.

An attitude of gratitude can change your life around. So funny, as I typed that my guides played a song lyric from one of the Jesus Christ Superstar songs, “Look at the good things you got.” When you look at the good things you have it forces the mind and emotions to go into the positive. Positive thoughts create positive action and positive actions help to create a more positive life.

A friend of mine (who I lost touch with) was going through a very bad time and he would call me every day for support. He would often groan when I asked, “What three things are you grateful for today?” He might have complained, however he always answered, even if the answer was – I am breathing. Gratitude helped him get out of his depression.

One holiday season, someone gave me “The Simple Abundance Journal of Gratitude” by Sarah Ban Breathnach, one of the best gifts I ever got. A former roommate of mine saw my gift and she said, “You’ll start that, but you won’t finish out the year.” How wrong she was because I rarely missed a day! That journal helped me be grateful for the little things and to incorporate it into my daily living. There are some days I am grateful for the big things – moving into a bigger home, lots of clients, and going on vacation. On other days it is the smaller things – my kitties snuggling with me, someone retweet a tweet, and a good night kiss from my man. The bad times are always the hardest to find gratitude, although it is possible – pain medication that allows me to sleep in the hospital, I am able to cry during emotional pain, and I am breathing.

My question to you is, “What three things are you grateful for today?”

Leave a Reply

